Skip to content

For vending machine operators

Updated Oct 3, 2026

The $10 hold: how smart cooler pre-authorization works

The cooler holds money on the shopper's card before the door unlocks. How much, for how long, and what happens when they take more.

Updated
A phone held over a card reader to pay contactless
Photo: CardMapr.nl / Unsplash

A smart cooler does not know what a shopper will take until the door closes, so it holds an amount on their card before it unlocks. The default is $10 at 365 (3651) and Micromart (Micromart5) and $15 at Byte on EMV and tap readers; Byte’s swipe-only readers are fixed at $1 (Byte6). The operator can change it.

The hold is not a charge, but it shows up as a pending one (3651). Release depends on the bank; vendors quote from 24 hours to seven days.

The sequence

  1. The shopper sees the hold amount and presents a card.
  2. If the card is approved for that amount, the hold is placed and the door unlocks.
  3. The shopper takes items and closes the door.
  4. The cooler works out the total and submits it. The hold is adjusted to match (3651).

If nothing was taken, only the hold appears, and the bank releases it. Each visit creates its own hold, so a shopper who opens the cooler three times in a day can see three (3651).

Default amounts

Platform Default Operator can set Release, per the vendor
365 PicoCooler Vision, Stockwell $10.00 From $1.00 up Minutes in most cases; some banks take days (3652)
Micromart $10 Yes Not stated (Micromart5)
Byte $15.00 on EMV and tap readers; swipe-only readers fixed at $1.00 From $1.00 up Within 7 business days (Byte6)
Haha Not stated From $0.10 up (Haha7) Within 7 days; varies by bank (Haha store8)
Cantaloupe card readers Up to $5 — About 24 to 72 hours (Cantaloupe9)

365 suggests setting the hold at twice your average item price, rounded up to the nearest $5 (3651), and $100 on a cooler selling alcohol (3654).

Nayax separates two modes on its readers. “Virtual credit” checks the card without reserving funds. A “bank hold” reserves them, and release can take one to five business days (Nayax10).

When the shopper takes more than the hold

The hold is the amount the bank has promised. Anything above it is a second request that can be declined.

  • 365 attempts an incremental authorization for the difference in the US and Canada; elsewhere the card is charged no more than the hold. Whether it succeeds depends on the card issuer, and 365 says the operator may bear the difference (3653).
  • Micromart makes multiple attempts to charge the card. It blocks prepaid, anonymous, and other high-risk cards from opening the door at all, and says it covers sales it cannot capture for technical reasons (Micromart5).
  • Atlantic Smart Vending, which sells Vendera coolers, says it does not accept gift or prepaid cards (Atlantic Smart Vending14).

That is the trade in setting the amount. A low hold lets more people in and leaves more unpaid. Apriva, a payment processor, describes an operator who set the hold at one cent and saw unpaid transactions rise sharply. It also warns against $50 to $100 (Apriva12).

What the card networks require

Visa’s rules, April 2026 edition (Visa11):

  • A merchant can submit an estimated authorization when the final amount is unknown. It has to be a genuine estimate, and the cardholder has to be told the amount.
  • If the estimate turns out too low, the merchant can add an incremental authorization.
  • For an in-person purchase like a cooler, the merchant has five calendar days from approval to submit the sale.
  • If the final amount is less than what was authorized, the merchant must reverse the difference within 24 hours.

The 24 hours is the merchant’s deadline to send the reversal. How quickly the shopper’s bank then shows it is up to the bank.

What shoppers complain about

365 acknowledges that a higher hold means larger visible pending charges and that repeat visits stack them (3651). A Cantaloupe-sponsored trade article says operators often get a high volume of calls from customers who take the hold for an overcharge (VendingMarketWatch13). Vending Times, reporting Nayax’s 2022 incremental-authorization launch, said high holds lead to chargebacks and unhappy customer service calls (Vending Times15).

What the operator controls is the amount and how clearly the cooler states it. Visa requires the shopper to be told the amount.

Questions

How much does a smart cooler hold on a card?

The operator sets it. The default is $10 at 365 Retail Markets and Micromart and $15 at Byte on EMV and tap readers; Byte's swipe-only readers are fixed at $1. Haha has no stated default and a minimum of 10 cents.

How long does a smart cooler hold stay on a card?

It depends on the shopper's bank. 365 says the adjustment usually happens within minutes but some banks take days. Cantaloupe says 24 to 72 hours on its card readers. Haha says within 7 days and Byte within 7 business days.

What happens if a shopper takes more than the hold amount?

The platform tries to charge the difference. In the US and Canada, 365 attempts an incremental authorization and says the operator bears the loss if it is declined. Micromart retries the card and blocks prepaid and other high-risk cards from opening the door.

Sources

Checked Oct 2026. Vendor prices and fees change; confirm before you buy.

  1. 365 PicoCooler Vision FAQ · help.365retailmarkets.com
  2. 365, setting a pre-authorization amount · help.365retailmarkets.com
  3. 365 Stockwell 2.0 FAQ · help.365retailmarkets.com
  4. 365 age verification FAQ · help.365retailmarkets.com
  5. Micromart FAQ · learn.micromart.com
  6. Byte Technology, authorization hold · support.bytetechnology.co
  7. Haha Vending, merchant software usage · hahavending.com
  8. Haha Vending US store FAQ · hahavendingstore.com
  9. Cantaloupe, pre-authorization credit card charge FAQs · cantaloupe.com
  10. Nayax, what is default credit · nayax-u.nayax.com
  11. Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules, April 2026 · usa.visa.com
  12. Apriva, Getting paid in a frictionless world · payments.apriva.com
  13. VendingMarketWatch, Understanding exact authorization (sponsored) · vendingmarketwatch.com
  14. Atlantic Smart Vending, Vendera Core · atlanticsmartvending.com
  15. Vending Times, Nayax introduces incremental authorization (2022) · vendingtimes.com