Cantaloupe’s Engage card reader was $329 on its store on October 3, 2026, with a $9.95 monthly fee and 5.95% processing (Cantaloupe store1). Each reader and Smart Store page we read says the product “requires an existing Cantaloupe account”, and “Purchases will not ship until onboarding has been completed (which can take up to 3 weeks).”
Cantaloupe has belonged to 365 Retail Markets since May 2026 (8-K21).
Card readers and telemeters
| Product | Price | Monthly fee | Processing | Commitment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Engage1 (touchscreen reader and telemeter in one) | $329 | $9.95 | 5.95% | Not stated on the page |
| G11 Cashless Kit2 (reader and telemeter) | $329 | $9.95 Cashless; $12.95 Cashless Plus | 5.95% | 12 months |
| G11 Telemeter Only3 | $189 | $9.95 Cashless; $12.95 Cashless Plus | 5.95% | 12 months |
| G11 Card Reader4, telemeter not included | $140 | Not listed | Not listed | Not stated |
| Engage, Cantaloupe One5 | $0 | $19.95 in the plan options; $18.95 in the description | 5.95% | 36 months |
| G11 Cashless Kit, Cantaloupe One6 | $0 | $19.95 in the plan options; $18.95 in the description | 5.95% | 36 months |
Apart from the reader-only G11, each comes in AT&T and Verizon versions at the same price. The product pages do not explain what the $12.95 Cashless Plus plan adds over the $9.95 Cashless plan.
The G11 kit and telemeter pages set a commitment of “12 months from Billing Commencement Date”. Ending service early costs “the monthly service fee for each software service multiplied by the number of months remaining” (G11 Telemeter3). The Engage page carries no commitment text; ask for the term in writing.
Onboarding runs through a New Account Inquiry form and a DocuSign agreement. Orders are “subject to credit approval”, and the order terms ask buyers to allow up to five business days for an order to be processed and ship (Engage1).
Cantaloupe readers place a hold of up to $5 on the shopper’s card, which Cantaloupe ties to Visa’s rules for unattended food and drink sales. The final amount typically posts within 24 to 72 hours. G10 and G11 readers can switch to an exact-amount hold, but only in single-vend mode (Cantaloupe FAQ9). Card readers compared puts these prices beside Nayax and PayRange.
Cantaloupe One rentals
Cantaloupe One bundles hardware and service into one monthly fee. Cantaloupe keeps ownership of the device and covers it under warranty for the term (Cantaloupe One7):
- Contracts run 36 months, then continue month to month from month 37.
- Upfront cost is shipping only. New customers are subject to a credit check.
- Billing starts 30 days after purchase or at the device’s first report to the network, whichever comes first (Engage, Cantaloupe One5).
- Ending a device early costs its monthly fee times the months remaining, and rented equipment must be returned within 60 days of the rental ending (Engage, Cantaloupe One5).
Starting prices on the Cantaloupe One page: $18.95 a month for the Engage Pulse and G11 Pulse kits, $19.95 for a card reader with Seed Cashless+ software, $119 for the Go Micro kiosk, $225 for the Go MiniX and Go Plus100 kiosks ($249 for the Go Plus100 with a bill acceptor), and $399 for the Smart Store 600 Single. The store pages say the fee “will be deducted from your flow of funds” (Engage, Cantaloupe One5).
Over 36 months, the Engage on Cantaloupe One comes to $718.20 in fees at $19.95, or $682.20 at $18.95. Bought outright, it costs $329 plus $9.95 a month: $687.20 over the same period, before processing in either case.
Smart Store 600 and 700
| Spec | Smart Store 600 Single | Smart Store 700 Single |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $7,495 | $9,495 |
| Rental | $399/month, 36 months | Not offered on the store |
| Size (H × W × D, in) | 72 × 32 × 23.5 | 77 × 32.25 × 31 |
| Weight | 300 lb | 425 lb |
| Shelves and trays | 6 shelves, 18 trays, 72 slots | 6 shelves, 24 trays, 94 slots |
Prices and sizes from Cantaloupe’s store pages for the 60010, 70011 and 600 rental12; slot counts from cantaloupe.com13. Cantaloupe’s spec sheet gives the 600 a depth of 26 in and the 700 a width of 35.25 in; cantaloupe.com gives the 700’s width as 35.5 in.
A Smart Store tracks purchases by weight. Each tray has its own load cell that detects as little as 15 grams, and cameras at the top of the door watch for “suspicious activity”. Cantaloupe claims 99% accuracy, footnoted “on average, dependent on transaction volume” (spec sheet14). Video is stored for up to 90 days, “included in your monthly services”.
Tray dividers are not adjustable (spec sheet14), and the 600’s store page10 says each shelf “can fit 3 products”, which is one product per tray. Cantaloupe’s advice for a product that needs more room is to give it a second tray. Up to four cabinets run from one payment screen, but a Single “cannot be expanded”; the Duo is designed for adding cabinets later. The spec sheet also lists a 10 to 15 minute battery backup and outdoor use under an awning. Cantaloupe offers cooler or ambient cabinets (Smart Stores13).
What is and is not published:
- Monthly fee and processing on a Smart Store you buy: not published. Cantaloupe’s pricing page8 says only “Monthly service fees apply”.
- The $399 rental: the page does not say whether processing is included.
- Pre-authorization hold: not published.
- Warranty on a direct purchase: not published. Atlas RFID Store, a reseller, lists a “Three Year Standard Warranty” on the 700 Single and quotes its price on request (Atlas15).
- Reseller fees: VendHub charges $50 a month for single 600 and 700 units, $125 for Duo to Quad setups, and 5.5% processing for Smart Stores on its platform (VendHub16).
- Competitor claim: Micromart lists Cantaloupe at $7,490 per unit, $60 a month in software, and 5.5% processing, without naming the model (Micromart17).
CV Vantage
The Cantaloupe store also sells 365’s CV Vantage camera cooler at $5,900 to $6,260 depending on configuration, with a $10 monthly Max Aware fee plus overages, a subscription of 5% a month ($25 minimum, $199 maximum) and 5.95% processing (CV Vantage18). 365 Retail Markets covers its financing and specs.
Two-tier pricing
Store pages let the operator set up two-tier pricing, which “would give the ability to charge an extra ten cents to your customer who uses a card or mobile wallet” (Engage1). A machine decal advertising a 20 cent discount on cash purchases is listed at $0.00 (decal19).
Cantaloupe’s payment data
Cantaloupe’s Micropayment Trends Report 202620 draws on data from Cantaloupe’s card readers and kiosks. For 2025 it reports:
- Shoppers spent over $3.3 billion at vending machines, up 5%.
- 78% of food and drink vending sales were cashless, up from 73%. Contactless made up 85% of cashless vending sales, up from 78%.
- The average cashless purchase was $2.45 against $1.57 in cash. The average vending transaction was $2.01, against $3.02 at micro markets and $4.49 at Smart Stores.
- Active Smart Store locations grew from 71 to 572.
Ownership
Cantaloupe’s 8-K21 gives May 8, 2026 as the closing date of its merger into 365 Retail Markets, at $11.20 a share in cash, and lists its principal office as Troy, Michigan. 365 announced the completion on May 11 and said the combined business will operate under the 365 name (36522). As a condition, the FTC required 365 to sell Cantaloupe’s Three Square Market kiosk business to Seaga Manufacturing (FTC23).
Reviews
Trustpilot24 showed a 2.8 TrustScore from three reviews on October 3, 2026, all one star, on an unclaimed profile. One, from March 2026, describes a Cantaloupe smart cooler whose weight sensor kept failing after recalibration and that stopped selling for days without an alert. The other two describe a dispute over a returned card reader and a delayed payout. These are operator reports, not verified by us.
We have not run a Cantaloupe reader or Smart Store. Smart coolers compared puts the Smart Store beside camera coolers.




